Requirement of 7 years of stay in Denmark or EEA

According to the new rules (January 1, 2019):
"In the future only people who have stayed in Denmark, Greenland or Faroe Islands in 7 out of the last 12 years can claim Unemployment benefits ("Dagpenge")".

I am EU citizen, and have been working in Switzerland for the last 7 seven years. Is Switzerland treated as a EU/EEA country for these new rules?
in Dagpenge by

1 Answer


Although Switzerland is neither a member of the EU nor the EEA, Switzerland is - in relation to A-kasse and unemployment benefits, including the new rule from 01.01.2019, treated as an EU country.

So as an EU-citizen, your stay in Switzerland will be counted in the 7 years requirement, like if you have stayed in Denmark.

Best regards,